Nelson Nabs 2012 Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Championship

2012 Ultra4 Series Trophies Awarded in Blackwell
November 10th, 2012 – Blackwell, TX: Less than 100 points separated the top 4 Ultra4 drivers going into last weekend’s PSC Brawl in Blackwell race; the series finale in the 2012 Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Championship series. 28 year old Ultra4 driver, Nick Nelson from Las Vegas, NV was the series points leader going into the race. With a win at the 2012 4 Wheel Parts Glen Helen Grand Prix and a top 10 finish at the Ultra4 Cinco de Baja earlier in the season, Nelson was the man to beat in Texas. At the end of the 176 mile race, Nelson would secure a 5th place overall finish and would maintain his lead in the 2012 Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Championship Series points by just 51 points over Detroit, MI Ultra4 driver, Mike Colville. A complete list of the top 10 in series points is listed below.
In addition to the 2012 Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Championship, Nick Nelson was also awarded the 2012 Ultra4 Sportsman of the Year award.  This award is voted on by fellow Ultra4 drivers. Drivers are encouraged to vote for the driver that they feel best represents Ultra4 Racing to the off –road and racing communities. Some of the reasons, fellow driver’s gave for voting for Nelson included; his domination throughout the series at races including The Mint 400, his willingness to help others, and the fact that he was an “all around nice guy.”  Nelson was also the Trail-Gear Western Regional Series Champion
A 2nd Ultra4 Sportsman of the year award was also issued to 2nd place Series Champion Mike Colville based upon his selfless efforts at multiple races throughout the season to assist other drivers. In Blackwell, Colville took the time to winch a broken competitor up a difficult obstacle knowing that the assistance could adversely affect his chances of a podium finish or even the series championship.  Ultra4 Racing Founder, Dave Cole issued this second Sportsman trophy based upon Colville’s selfless acts at multiple races throughout the season.  Colville also was the 4WD Hardware Eastern Regional Series Champion.
The 2012 Rookie of the Year award went to Farmington, MO driver, Jason Shipman. This was Shipman’s first year racing the Ultra4 series and he succeeded in finishing 2nd place in the 4WD Hardware Rausch Creek Qualifier, Best in the Desert’s Vegas to Reno – Ultra4 class and the 2012 PSC Brawl in Blackwell, TX.
The 2012 Partner of the Year award was presented toTim Coltey of  Nitto Tire U.S.A. In 2012, Nitto Tire signed onto a 3 year sponsorship of the Nitto Tire National Championship series and will be playing a larger role throughout the 2013 Ultra4 Series nationwide.
The next race for Ultra4 Racing will be during the 2013 Griffin King of The Hammers week taking place February 3rd-8th in Johnson Valley, CA.
The following Awards were given out at last weekend’s PSC Brawl in Blackwell :

Nitto Tire National Championship


Nick Nelson



Mike Colville



Loren Healy



Gary Ferravanti



Jason Shipman



Levi Shirley



Darren Henke



Jeremy Dickenson



Alex Hardaway



Bill Baird


Trail Gear Western Regional  Champion

Nick Nelson

4WD Hardware Eastern Regional Champion

Mike Colville

Ultra4 Rookie of The Year

Jason Shipman

Ultra4 Sportsman of The Year

Nick Nelson

Mike Colville

Ultra4 Partner of The Year

Nitto Tire


Photo courtesy of David O’Connor Five Oaks Creative